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	<title>ZoomMetrix.com</title>
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	<link>http://www.zoommetrix.com</link>
	<description>Specializing in Web Analytics, Site Optimization, Internet Marketing Strategies</description>
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		<title>Segmentation Analysis Making Sense of Initial Event to Ultimate Outcome</title>
		<link>http://www.zoommetrix.com/traffic-analysis/segmentation-analysis-making-sense-of-initial-event-to-ultimate-outcome/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=segmentation-analysis-making-sense-of-initial-event-to-ultimate-outcome</link>
		<comments>http://www.zoommetrix.com/traffic-analysis/segmentation-analysis-making-sense-of-initial-event-to-ultimate-outcome/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sat, 05 May 2012 20:25:38 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>irizakri</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Traffic Analysis]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[active users]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[cohorts]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Segment]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Segmentation]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[traffic analysis]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.zoommetrix.com/?p=1072</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>I love segmentation analysis. It gives a deeper understanding about the consumer behaviors and the true value of marketing efforts. It gives a better sense of what&#8217;s happening to the outcome rather than the vanity traffic metrics that many marketers or managements love.</p> <p>People running online business knows many marketing efforts don&#8217;t immediately tie to [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I love segmentation analysis.  It gives a deeper understanding about the consumer behaviors and the true value of marketing efforts.  It gives a better sense of what&#8217;s happening to the outcome rather than the vanity traffic metrics that many marketers or managements love.</p>
<p>People running online business knows many marketing efforts don&#8217;t immediately tie to sales.  Marketers fuzzily know that one day those consumers who were exposed to the ad have the brand awareness and will one day buy from your site, or else where, or even share the product info to their friends.  Let&#8217;s try to cut away from that fuzziness.</p>
<p>Let me quickly talk about social gaming&#8230; Many social gaming companies track DAU (daily active users) or MAU (monthly active users) as KPI, because overall number of users really don&#8217;t matter when they need to make money and growth through active gamers playing their game on their platform.  In most cases, those games are usually free, and as users get addicted to playing it, gaming companies would do their best to drive converting those gamers to paying gamers.  They pay either through monthly subscriptions, avatars, unlocking stuff, get more stages, remove ads, etc.</p>
<p>In such case, cohort analysis comes into picture in their reporting and analysis practices.  A cohort study or panel study is a form of longitudinal study used commonly in medicine, social science, ecology, etc.  In this case, it is an analysis of factors and follows a group of people who were exposed to a particular event and tracked across time to see how their behavior change.  A cohort is a group of people who share a common characteristic or experience within a defined period (e.g. downloaded the game for the first time, signed up for an email, create their account).  Then this cohorts will be followed across time to see if they perform the next desirable action.  </p>
<p>Here is an example snap shot from <a href="https://www.kissmetrics.com/features/cohort-analysis" target="_blank">KissMetrics</a>.<br />
<a href="http://www.zoommetrix.com/wp/images/main/TA_Cohorts_05052012.png"><img src="http://www.zoommetrix.com/wp/images/main/TA_Cohorts_05052012.png" alt="Cohorts Analysis via KissMetrics" title="Cohorts Analysis" width="542" height="219" class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-1077" /></a></p>
<p>In this particular example, it is showing the number of people signed up during that reporting month.  Then it follows that group of people in month 1, 2, 3, and so forth measuring &#8220;Signed In&#8221;.  So in month March 2011, there were 1,312 people who signed up for this service, and 30% of them have came back and signed in 1 month after their initial sign up.  Seems like that 30% was the all time high when compared to historical.  That could indicate some correlations to some marketing activities to drive that conversion.</p>
<p>To me this is a great example of how powerful metrics could be to articulate the effectiveness of marketing or any business efforts to drive the outcome.  Here are two ideas I randomly came up with you could do:</p>
<ul>
<li>Track the cohorts of Marketing Campaign XYZ on people who had been exposed to the ads for the first time.  Follow them and see when they convert, or sign up for newsletter, or share content.    See how changing marketing tactics or optimized ads impact the recency of the outcome.</li>
<li>Track the cohorts of people who have converted to sales on your site for the first time.  Then follow that cohorts to see if they come back to re-purchase something else of a higher priced items.</li>
</ul>
<p>This analysis is pretty hard to do with traditional web anlaytics along as cohorts are defined as particular group of people who you explicitly know.  In other words, if people delete their cookies or you loose track of the original cohorts then data becomes pretty dirty after several months.  However, if your registrations, logins, sign up events are tied to consumer info, then you should have less challenges in tracking them.</p>
<p>Perhaps you can trying this with your CRM database first, and see how that come out to.</p>
<p>Next&#8230; what about some deep dive segmentation in web analytics&#8230;</p>
<p>This is not a cohort analysis, but Google Analytics advance segments could give you a pretty good deep analysis of your converting audience.  It looks nothing like the cohorts analysis table, but that&#8217;s fine.  You&#8217;re looking for insights and not for pretty graphs/charts.</p>
<p>Taking a look at my own traffic for some random period.  I want to compare the new visitors traffic who came from my feeds via feedburner, and see how that compares to returning visitors from the feeds.  You could compare the outcomes, and two different segments provide different results, which is great, because I know now that my returning audience through feeds are super precious. Their goal conversion rates, and AdSense response rate and eCPM are much better than my new visitors through feeds.  That means I must be doing well bringing back engaged audience and they&#8217;re converting.   </p>
<p><a href="http://www.zoommetrix.com/wp/images/main/TA_Segments_05052012_1.png" target="_blank"><img src="http://www.zoommetrix.com/wp/images/main/TA_Segments_05052012_1-300x46.png" alt="Example Segmentation Analysis" title="Segmentation Analysis 001" width="500" class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-1080" /></a></p>
<p><a href="http://www.zoommetrix.com/wp/images/main/TA_Segments_05052012_2.png" target="_blank"><img src="http://www.zoommetrix.com/wp/images/main/TA_Segments_05052012_2-300x44.png" alt="Example Segmentation Analysis" title="Segmentation Analysis 002" width="500" class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-1081" /></a></p>
<p>Now you can look at this return visitors segment&#8217;s recency report and see how recent they visit, analyze and get a good sense to see if that recency is shrinking, is it aligned to blog posts recency, etc.  </p>
<p>To me this is the important thing that comes out of this is the &#8220;story&#8221;.  There are many marketing tactics that drives spikes, and there are many common metrics that measure that impact for that moment.  A lot of times we don&#8217;t know how to replicate that&#8230; Not so good&#8230; Many analysts and marketers focus too much on that.  These insights or anlaysis tactics I showed you should tell you what drives the growth of your key audience, or what marketing efforts could be replicated to bring more of these lucrative audience.</p>
<p>Enjoy analyzing!!</p>
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		<item>
		<title>Tracking interactions on site and what to plan</title>
		<link>http://www.zoommetrix.com/traffic-analysis/tracking-interactions-on-site-and-what-to-plan/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=tracking-interactions-on-site-and-what-to-plan</link>
		<comments>http://www.zoommetrix.com/traffic-analysis/tracking-interactions-on-site-and-what-to-plan/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 29 Apr 2012 02:29:49 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>irizakri</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Traffic Analysis]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[conversions]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Segmentation]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[web analytics]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.zoommetrix.com/?p=1063</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>I come across many requests on vanity metrics, this is probably not surprising for many digital analytics analysts.<br /> Traffic to site, number of clicks to this links, video view, etc. Yes, all of those data are important if the goal is to widen the funnel, but at the end of the day these traffic [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I come across many requests on vanity metrics, this is probably not surprising for many digital analytics analysts.<br />
Traffic to site, number of clicks to this links, video view, etc.  Yes, all of those data are important if the goal is to widen the funnel, but at the end of the day these traffic driving activities needs to yield to an outcome.  Analysts or people who are in charge to connect the dots between data and business objectives/goals will need to plan to assure your analysis don&#8217;t end up reporting just on traffic, link clicks, video views, etc. </p>
<p>Here are my three step data tracking principles I follow to better set up a good web site analytics practice.</p>
<p><strong>1.  Just implement the tracker to track the basics.  Yes&#8230; just do it.</strong></p>
<p>Yes, you have to go to this step to collect something to begin with.  This is like the first step to acquire visits, page views, link clicks, video views, conversions, etc.  Typically, you&#8217;ll work with engineers or implementation leads to make sure the site or the new site elements are tracked.  Rather you report on those high level figures or not are your call, but this is usually the first step most analytics practitioners will need to go through.  Here is an example&#8230;</p>
<p>Marketing team is investing in generating video assets.  All managements will want to see the number of views, so people in charge will stress hard to analyst that we have to get that data up and running.  You can see this step as answering that question, but another way to view this is really preparing the denominator of your conversion rates or articulate the size of the conversion opportunities on this segment.  So the analytics team with engineers will implement video views by video title.  Now, managements are happy right?  Think twice&#8230;</p>
<p><strong>2.  Set up the tracker to tie to an outcome, or a conversion events</strong></p>
<p>Now, a good analyst will work with engineer to make sure not only the video view is tracked.  He/her will ask the engineer to track video view completion event as well.  Some will extend to track different points (i.e. 50% of video viewed), too.  With this completion event, analyst can answer X% of people who viewed the video actually completed watching the entire video.  </p>
<p>Video views are such a vanity metric as you can have 100% of people visiting the page with video start watching the video, and end up not watching all the way to the end.  You can have 1 million views, but I&#8217;m sure managements will not be happy to have a videos where 99% of people did not watch it all the way instead closing it at 10% mark&#8230;  </p>
<p>Conversion event could be something else, too.  It could be order completions, number of video shares, or number of likes on people who viewed the video segment.  Conversions could be any desirable outcomes.</p>
<p><strong>3.  Make sure that outcomes can give you deeper segmentations and understand the value</strong></p>
<p>At the end of the day, your management will need to digest that data and connect it to business objectives and goals.  The common language many of these executives or managers speak is dollar value (or in some form of currency value).  All of those traffic, clicks, video views, how much incremental business value (or dollars) it is bringing for the company is what the analyst needs to set up themselves to succeed in a world full of meaningless data.  </p>
<p>Another form of adding linking video interactions to value is segmenting the crap out of it, and tie it to visitor loyalty.  So beyond clicks, video start, completion rates, you could analyze to see of those who watched the video, what percentage of them are coming back completing a conversion event (i.e. downloads, newsletter sign up, hit product page, share, etc.).</p>
<p>I&#8217;ve use video as an example, but it could be any other events that happens on a website.  Here is a snap shot (below) of a particular segment that completed the action events (or micro outcomes), and showing how that particular segment performs on conversions comparing against another segment who aren&#8217;t engaged with the site and did not completed the action events.  </p>
<p>This is very powerful stuff, because you can now confidently recommend to be aggressive in growing that particular segment, or ask more marketing dollars to promote your digital marketing program. What are your analytics planning tactics?  I&#8217;d love to hear.  Feel free to comment here or write on my Facebook page.</p>
<p><a href="http://www.zoommetrix.com/wp/images/main/Conv_Segment_042012.png" target="_blank"><img src="http://www.zoommetrix.com/wp/images/main/Conv_Segment_042012-1024x169.png" alt="Action Event Segment and Conversion Outcome" title="Action Event Segment and Conversion Outcome" width="535" height="88" class="aligncenter size-large wp-image-1068" /></a></p>
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		<item>
		<title>Methodology to set the target for bounce rate to improve consumer experience</title>
		<link>http://www.zoommetrix.com/traffic-analysis/methodology-to-set-the-target-for-bounce-rate-to-improve-consumer-experience/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=methodology-to-set-the-target-for-bounce-rate-to-improve-consumer-experience</link>
		<comments>http://www.zoommetrix.com/traffic-analysis/methodology-to-set-the-target-for-bounce-rate-to-improve-consumer-experience/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 11 Mar 2012 09:45:54 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>irizakri</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Traffic Analysis]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Bounce Rate]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[expectations]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[planning]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Target]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.zoommetrix.com/?p=1042</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;d like to share some of my ideas on we could potentially think about planning to drive lower bounce rate on site or pages. Bounce rate is measured as a percentage on (single visits / entry visits). In other words, it measures on those people who entered the page directly, what percentage of them would [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;d like to share some of my ideas on we could potentially think about planning to drive lower bounce rate on site or pages.  Bounce rate is measured as a percentage on (single visits / entry visits).  In other words, it measures on those people who entered the page directly, what percentage of them would leave immediately without further exploring the site.  Note: This post is not about the technical aspect of tracking.</p>
<p>The question is &#8220;<strong>what is a good bounce rate that you should be aiming for?</strong>&#8221;<br />
I have few ideas and my hope is to inspire a thinking to help tackle the work in improving consumer experience, and setting some expectations around bounce rate.</p>
<p><strong>Methodology #1</strong></p>
<p>Simply looking at historical bounce rate and continuously aim for better results.  So if we know average monthly bounce rate is at 50% for a fiscal year, aim to target 49%.  Generally speaking, 1% of 1 million visitors per month is 10,000 visitors per month from bouncers to prospects.  1% improvement in monthly bounce rate could translate to $120K in annual lift in sales (at conversion rate of 1% and AOV of $100).  That&#8217;s a great sales lift, you can now hire one engineer in Silicon Valley.  </p>
<p>So methodology #1 is about striving and planning to reduce the average bounce rate over time, by understanding how much lift in prospects/leads/engaged audience you would increase, and set appropriate benchmark that meets the sales goal.  </p>
<p>for example&#8230;<br />
# of reduced single visits = [(Planned $ lift in sales) / AOV] / Conv Rate<br />
Target Bounce Rate (%) = [(original single visits) - (# of reduced single visits)] / Entry Visits</p>
<p><strong>Methodology #2</strong></p>
<p>Derive bounce rate goal by focusing on the outcomes.<br />
Unlike Methodology #1, we can potentially get the target bounce rate by understanding the opportunity lift for non-sales outcome.  </p>
<p>I could almost hear some people say, well we shouldn&#8217;t only take the sales and plan it so.  Yes, people can arrive and leave as they wish, and we can claim that as success because some research shows the majority of people are on the site to research products only.  However, if the content or the site is SO awesome, they&#8217;ll be leaving you with their email address for newsletters, explore more product pages, read reviews, share the product to friends, buy from the brand, and many other great things the site could offer.  Segmentation analysis could be done to acquire the value of some non-sales outcome.</p>
<p>So here is a case or sample image after performing similar exercise noted below&#8230;</p>
<p><a href="http://www.zoommetrix.com/wp/images/main/TA_BounceRate_Methodology.png"><img src="http://www.zoommetrix.com/wp/images/main/TA_BounceRate_Methodology.png" alt="" title="TA_BounceRate_Methodology" width="500" class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-1046" /></a></p>
<p>Let&#8217;s say a particular page is getting such traffic and relating results at bounce rate of 46%.  Say the goal is to double the outcome by 2x, where you happen to know that economic value per traffic is at $5, yielding $76,570 in total value for current converting traffic of 142,723 visits.  So assuming entry traffic, conversion rate, and economic value per traffic remains constant, we&#8217;re looking an additional 7,657 visits (or 7,657 less single visits) to achieve that goal.  </p>
<p>Note:<br />
# of Outcomes x Economic Value per Outcome = Economic Value (or Total Value)<br />
Conv. Rate = # of Outcomes / (Overall Traffic x Bounce Rate)</p>
<p>So&#8230; New Bounce Rate = (36,595 &#8211; 7,657) / 79,208 = 37%</p>
<p>Another way to approach optimizing bounce rate is to improve the conversion rate.<br />
If you&#8217;ve taken conversion rate as: # of Outcomes / (Overall Traffic x Bounce Rate)<br />
In this case, the desirable conversion rate is derived while assuming # of Outcomes and Overall Traffic remain constant.  </p>
<p>So for example, if you wanted to improve conversion rate from 1.0% to 1.5% when bounce rate is at 46%&#8230;<br />
Original Conv. Rate = 1.0% = 10/1000 = 10/(2,174 x 46%)<br />
New Conv. Rate = 1.5% = 10/(2,174 x Z%) <== solve for Z% = 30.7%</p>
<p>New target bounce rate would be 30.7%</p>
<p><strong>In summary&#8230;</strong></p>
<p>Lowering bounce rate is about planning to improve customer &#8220;experience&#8221;, giving business a higher number of engaged consumers that could potentially lift the value of the outcome by generating more qualified leads or prospects.  Hopefully, I&#8217;ve given some ideas for people to better plan expectations for bounce rates.  Ideally, we should focus on the outcomes, and plan from there.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<item>
		<title>Digital analytics role is not just defined by web analytics or analysts</title>
		<link>http://www.zoommetrix.com/online-strategies/digital-analytics-role-is-not-just-defined-by-web-analytics-or-analysts/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=digital-analytics-role-is-not-just-defined-by-web-analytics-or-analysts</link>
		<comments>http://www.zoommetrix.com/online-strategies/digital-analytics-role-is-not-just-defined-by-web-analytics-or-analysts/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 04 Mar 2012 03:24:53 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>irizakri</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Online Strategies]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[engineers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[experts]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[governance]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[resource]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Sources]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.zoommetrix.com/?p=1026</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>My previous blog post talked about <a href="http://www.zoommetrix.com/online-strategies/is-your-company-treating-data-as-an-asset/" target="_blank">treating data as an asset</a>, and would like to focus on the human resource in this post.</p> <p>Roles and Responsibilities to turn data into an asset</p> <p>Many companies still think hiring that one web analytics analyst is a great investments. Most of these companies forget that digital [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>My previous blog post talked about <a href="http://www.zoommetrix.com/online-strategies/is-your-company-treating-data-as-an-asset/" target="_blank">treating data as an asset</a>, and would like to focus on the human resource in this post.</p>
<p><strong>Roles and Responsibilities to turn data into an asset</strong></p>
<p>Many companies <em>still</em> think hiring that one web analytics analyst is a great investments.  Most of these companies forget that digital analytics discipline is getting more deeper and wider (or complex).  I strongly agree with Avinash&#8217;s 90-10 rule where 90% should be about people/analyst than tools where it should be 10%.  This post is not about that, but focusing on that 90% and really understand why we need smart engineers and analysts behind digital data.  Businesses who are new into web analytics need to start thinking about analytics from end to end planning, and NOT just from hiring someone who can look at data coming out of Google Analytics, Webtrends, SiteCatalysts, etc.</p>
<p>What are the common digital analytics disciplines and practices companies should think about (let&#8217;s assume these companies are new to this&#8230;)</p>
<p><strong>Digital analyst&#8217;s disciplines and potential expertises required</strong></p>
<ul>
<li>Web Site Analytics (including eCommerce marketing)</li>
<li>Media planning and buys (including but not limited to SEM, eMail, Banner Ads)</li>
<li>CRM</li>
<li>Social Media Monitoring</li>
<li>Testings:  A/B or MVT</li>
<li>Modeling (marketing mix, forecasting or predictive modeling)</li>
<li>VOC (voice of customer) or Consumer Insights</li>
<li>Market analytics or Competitive insights</li>
</ul>
<p>Imagine the engineering side of these data sources.  The engineering side needs following accumen to help turn these data sources into readable data for these analysts.</p>
<ul>
<li>Data integration: engineering skills required to bring various data into company&#8217;s environment.</li>
<li>Translation of data:  Bad data in, Bad data out.  You can still have &#8220;Good Data In and Bad Data Out&#8221;, if the folks who are working on the logical layer messing up the translation after data comes into database.  This a critical piece to make sure analysts and businesses have good data to analyze.</li>
<li>QA and governance: experts who understand the business needs and making sure the implemented solutions are accurate, not breaking things, and checking to make sure business has good data on hand.</li>
<li>Expertise in infrastructure: Yes, all these stuff around data needs to be processed, stored, and reported.  Where and how?  Engineers need to understand the technical environment surrounding the data, and someone needs to own maintaining it. </li>
</ul>
<p>Even if you&#8217;re not thinking about one head count for all of these disciplines, let&#8217;s look at where these data come from and ask your self how much level of expertises or resources are needed to &#8220;manage&#8221; all of these.</p>
<p><strong>Data Sources and potential role name</strong></p>
<p><strong>Web Site Analytics // Web Analytics Implementation Engineer</strong>:  Data typically comes from analytics platform&#8217;s given javascripts embedded on the website, and the analytics service provider would process the received data within a day to aggregate necessary data to report on visitors, sessions, page views, and tie all of these to user behaviors or action events.  These could be implemented by web engineers, but in most of the case pure engineers would not understand what tracker means what to business.  Dedicated implementation engineers usually requires a strong business acumen so they can connect the dots between javascript to business needs.</p>
<p><strong>Media Planners &#038; Buyers</strong>:  Web Analytics data captures great post click data, but not on the buy side.  There are many companies specialize and are dedicated to the planning, buying, and executing the ads.  In digital space, these data are planned in Ad Serve tools that aren&#8217;t web analytics (obviously&#8230;).  In addition, recently, with YouTube gaining momentum replacing TV in gaining eyeballs at low cost, data around these platforms are becoming important as well.  YoutTube impressions are replacing the TV GRP&#8217;s (j/k).</p>
<p><strong>CRM // CRM manager or analysts or CRM data engineer</strong>:  In most cases CRM data are stored in a form of database.  In some cases those data in house are accessible by 3rd party depending on the company&#8217;s contract/relations with the agency.  In other cases, the database is hosted and managed by third party service providers (sounds like a bad idea.. but you&#8217;ll hear it time to time).  Data needs be pushed into the database from some where.  These managers should be the expert in the data in/out aspect as well as working with analysts to understand the customer profile by profiling the data.  This discipline has two required aspects, both technical side as well as the management side.  That is why it is really hard to find one person with both talent, because database engineering and managements are two different skill sets.</p>
<p><strong>Social Media Monitoring // Social Media Analysts or Operations Engineer</strong>:  Most of the social media monitoring enables the data through paid services or platforms (like Radian 6, CrimsonHexagon, etc.) to collect certain phrases people are talking about and less about tagging.  However, from data stand point, you&#8217;ll need operations engineer to bring the data into the data warehouse.  Otherwise, you&#8217;ll be sitting on 3rd party tool collecting and hosting the data for you.  Good luck to you when that company goes out of business.  </p>
<p>Anyways, Social Data has many text inputs from the users, and to mine those data, it will be challenging and hard to bring in all those data into a data warehouse.  But not a problem in an era where Big Data is a commodity right?  Well, think about it, you still need data in house if you really want to treat Social Data as your asset.</p>
<p><strong>A/B test analyst // Test Planner // Test Creator</strong>:  Any web site testing involves planning, and that means you need to have a good planner.  Once great plan is locked in or approved, assuming all creative assets are final, then you&#8217;ll need to have a technical person who can enable the test by setting it up the event tracker on site.  Then test needs to be set up in the Testing Tool as well.  </p>
<p>This is a lot of work, and planning and engineering are two different skill sets.  If you really want to test multiple times in a month, then business really needs a strong commitment on resources.  Learnings from test and the culture built will need to be an asset for the company, so make sure to have those knowledge and learnings stay (perhaps in intranet, or corporate&#8217;s wiki site, etc.).</p>
<p><strong>VOC (or Voice of Customer) // Consumer Insights</strong>:  Quantitative data from analytics alone gives you an insight if you synthesize massive amounts of data to that one learning.  However, you can not ignore or argue with what your customer directly tells you.  When that VOC data marries with quant analytics, then it is very insightful.  That means the data sources would come from these survey tracker implemented on the website, while making sure you have a good designed survey questions to answer critical business questions.  Some one needs to be able to plan the end to end aspect of the discipline.  One analyst can not do that especially if you&#8217;re going to take VOC to a new/next level to best learn your customer&#8217;s pain points.</p>
<p><strong>Market Analytics Analysts or Competitive insights</strong>:  Typically these data sources come from 3rd party paid services like ComScore or Hitwise.  You may think, no heavy requirements needed, sounds easy.  Yes if you end there then web analyst could take on the rest.  However, if you&#8217;re in a business like buying data from POS (point of sales) or analyzing market share, then it is a whole another level of man power needed to make sense of it.  Web site analyst looks at owned media alone may be missing the big picture when market share of your company is increasing/decreasing by 2x.  If you ever seen those data directly from NPD or GFK, and not just Compete.com stuff, then you&#8217;re going to say &#8216;wow&#8217; I need more time to analyze all these data and see how that is impacting consumer behavior online. </p>
<p>My intent of this article is make sure analysts are thinking about the data beyond your one segment of your digital discipline.  Data experts are involved with many experts outside of marketers and they are all from data where it starts from some where.  Managements who got Web Analytics 1.0 to 2.0, now needs to think about data as an asset, governance, privacy, security, data warehousing, etc.  Not to mention growing number of data and sources CMO thinks marketers already have, so take action before business demands it.  Start by looking at the resource on hand and the reality of the data eco system.</p>
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		<title>Is your company treating data as an asset?</title>
		<link>http://www.zoommetrix.com/online-strategies/is-your-company-treating-data-as-an-asset/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=is-your-company-treating-data-as-an-asset</link>
		<comments>http://www.zoommetrix.com/online-strategies/is-your-company-treating-data-as-an-asset/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 19 Feb 2012 07:32:46 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>irizakri</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Online Strategies]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[asset]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Data]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.zoommetrix.com/?p=997</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;d like to get my thoughts together on following question. </p> <p>Should we think of web analytics data as an asset?</p> <p>Web Analytics data as an asset<br /> Generally speaking, asset is defined as &#8220;A resource with economic value that an individual, corporation or country owns or controls with the expectation that it will provide [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;d like to get my thoughts together on following question.  </p>
<blockquote><p>Should we think of web analytics data as an asset?</p></blockquote>
<p><strong>Web Analytics data as an asset</strong><br />
Generally speaking, asset is defined as &#8220;A resource with economic value that an individual, corporation or country owns or controls with the expectation that it will provide future benefit.&#8221;  It certainly sounds like useful data could be an asset.  As we all know more and more companies are generating profits and contributing to country&#8217;s growth through data business.  In my view, this applies to any businesses or industries.  Let&#8217;s focus on Web Analytics.</p>
<p>Experts in the field of web analytics are well aware of the available quantitative data, highlighting few:<br />
- Traffic to the site and by different acquisition channels<br />
- Traffic to pages<br />
- Actions taken on the site by the visitors<br />
- Custom event parameters tied to user behaviors (i.e. people who came from Organic Search and hit that +1 or Like button)</p>
<p>So any of these worthy of calling it an asset?</p>
<p>Many experts will say, you&#8217;ll need to quantify the value of your data.  Some will say, go analyze it by seeing what if you have an incorrect data, and review the impact on business.  In my view, any data in this erra could be valuable and are worthy of treating like an asset.  There would need to be priorities on selecting which data, but recent data storage and infrastructure (even for BIG data) has become a commodity.  I believe that good analysts will be able to extract value out of massive amounts of data, but would definitely require good planning around it.</p>
<p>When data is treated like an asset, the first thing that comes to my mind is data warehousing the data.  Businesses like to spend money on sales side, but if you look at companies that are making huge dollars from pure digital services, they&#8217;re treating user behavior data like the most important thing in their company.  Let&#8217;s equate that to web data.  So why so important??</p>
<p>I&#8217;m going to borrow Mark Zuckerberg&#8217;s statement in Facebook&#8217;s IPO filing &#8211;</p>
<blockquote><p>Simply put: we don’t build services to make money; we make money to build better services. These days I think more and more people want to use services from companies that believe in something beyond simply maximizing profits.</p></blockquote>
<p>Wow&#8230; ok so this is no brainer to me.  Building great service means, understanding your consumer/customer, and continue to build better experience by continuing to optimizing the service.  Nothing about the sales, but about the upper part of marketing funnel relating to the entire business.  These companies championing digital data driving faster revenue growth than any traditional companies are analyzing the crap out of the massive amount of user data, and making investments to drive better engagement, shares, user experience, etc.  </p>
<p>They are collecting, processing, and storing non-sales data and ACTING upon it.  Great services then yield massive amounts of revenue opportunity.  Instead of focusing on sales and review what worked or what didn&#8217;t, then try to replicate/apply the learnings, these companies look at consumer&#8217;s footprints and other non-sales measures to lead the path to better service or growth.</p>
<p>I can hear people say, <em>&#8220;well I got my web analytics data in Google Analytics or in Webtrends or Omniture SiteCatalyst so that&#8217;s it right?&#8221;</em>.</p>
<p>I say go do your homework and see how long they keep the data, and ask yourself do you really want to keep your company&#8217;s asset in someone else&#8217;s hands and always have some dependencies around it on third party?  Not sure about you, but I&#8217;ll say &#8220;NO&#8221;.  </p>
<p>Thankfully, these data companies realize the importance of getting data out of their platform, so most of them provide some form of API interface to query/export data outside of their GUI tool.  I love running Webtrends data out of their REST API.  Allowing companies to build their own data warehouse gives tremendous amount of leverage to integrate various data and perform valuable analysis beyond &#8220;web site&#8221; analytics.</p>
<p>Many companies not running a massive .com, but doing simple stuff out of small sites, I would still challenge them to think about the long term big picture, especially if the company is &#8220;going&#8221; to invest in digital space (could be in a form of online ads, website, CRM, etc.).<br />
A lot of people <em>measure future</em> success by comparing against previous historical data.  Some companies <em>plan</em> on historical data and profile data to learn possible opportunities.</p>
<p>These web data could be used in predictive modeling, marketing mix modeling, marketing media planning, CRM/Web Behavior segment targeting, etc.  </p>
<p>SO.. web data does seem to be important right?!</p>
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		<title>A Thought on Web Analytics and Big Digital Data</title>
		<link>http://www.zoommetrix.com/online-strategies/a-thought-on-web-analytics-and-big-digital-data/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=a-thought-on-web-analytics-and-big-digital-data</link>
		<comments>http://www.zoommetrix.com/online-strategies/a-thought-on-web-analytics-and-big-digital-data/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 13 Feb 2012 03:56:00 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>irizakri</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Online Strategies]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA["big data"]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Data]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[digital]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.zoommetrix.com/?p=982</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>I find more and more articles on Big Data in major media outlets and also hearing it on radio. Since Google introduced it&#8217;s search engine to the world and came to known the existence of their algorithms behind their search data, I&#8217;ve always sensed that digital data, especially in the application and usage in businesses [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I find more and more articles on Big Data in major media outlets and also hearing it on radio.  Since Google introduced it&#8217;s search engine to the world and came to known the existence of their algorithms behind their search data, I&#8217;ve always sensed that digital data, especially in the application and usage in businesses was going to take off.  </p>
<p>It made clear to me that web analytics was the first outlet for people like me to be immersed into digital data.  Google Analytics was a break through which allowed people to track their website or blogs at no cost.  At that time of introduction of Google Analytics to the public, websites or blogs were the primary digital property and avenue that was measurable other than the online ads.</p>
<p>We&#8217;re now in a era where every content are available in a digital form (books, musics, videos, photos, what you like/share, etc.).  Even historical archives that are in libraries or museums, or even government records are digitized.  When that data becomes available, a lot of cool stuff can be done from data analytics stand point, and many people around the world could benefit from it.  That huge data is commonly referred to as &#8216;Big Data&#8217;.</p>
<p>I strongly believe that Web Analytics analysts need to look beyond web sites.  Even if web site is the primary channel for your consumer&#8217;s touch point within your business, still look beyond by thinking how to integrate and scale more data to best champion it.</p>
<p>There are many avenues of digital data outside of web site analytics platform, and here is the list of major digital channels that are well measurable (not limited to&#8230;):</p>
<ul>
<li>Social Media (shares, tweets, likes, social graph, sentiments, etc.)</li>
<li>Videos</li>
<li>Paid Media Ads</li>
<li>Market data</li>
<li>Consumer profile data</li>
<li>Voice of Consumers </li>
<li>Survey</li>
</ul>
<p>So why am I referencing BIG Data?  Well, the way I see it is, all these data sources are in silo.  They&#8217;re all useful in its own way, but very hard to link to it as a causation, given that these data as a silo do great in correlation.  The same goes with Big Data. </p>
<p>This is also mentioned in the NYT&#8217;s article on Big Data as&#8230;</p>
<p>&#8220;<em>Data is tamed and understood using computer and mathematical models. These models, like metaphors in literature, are explanatory simplifications. They are useful for understanding, but they have their limits. A model might spot a correlation and draw a statistical inference that is unfair or discriminatory, based on online searches, affecting the products, bank loans and health insurance a person is offered, privacy advocates warn.</em>&#8221;</p>
<p><a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2012/02/12/sunday-review/big-datas-impact-in-the-world.html" title="The Age of Big Data by NYT" target="_blank"></a></p>
<p>So this is where I think web anlaytics is positioned really well in many ways.  There is no need to be a statistician, if you put your stick in the ground and leverage Web Analytics integrated data to measure ROI, then your business folks will be happy and if business takes action on the data, you can make improvements in business results, and make more money.</p>
<p>Here are few examples that could help illustrate what I&#8217;m thinking&#8230;</p>
<p>You have a video on YouTube generating tons of views (like.. multi millions views) and likes.  However, you don&#8217;t know the value of that video.  You can use statistical models or correlate to sales and say, &#8220;yes!&#8221; it is influencing sales&#8230;  Reason you can&#8217;t tie it directly to sales is because video&#8217;s data is within Youtube and not passed or integrated with other channels.</p>
<p>Another way to approach that analysis is, let&#8217;s say you find that Video on your website, perform segmentation analysis on Video viewed (or initiated as you can&#8217;t track video view completion) and Purchased a product Versus people who did not saw the Video and Purchased the product.  Now you know exactly what the incremental sales it gives you online from dollar stand point.  To me, that is much more tangible than some fuzzy correlation stuff.</p>
<p>Another one&#8230;<br />
Social Gaming company is getting billions of record of data on what gamers are unlocking and buying within the game.  A lot of them are using sales attribution or statistical models to look at what contributes to MAU or DAU (monthly/daily active users).  They&#8217;re very happy because they got Big big data and they can do some complex/insane segmentations within their lovely database using SQL and modeling.  </p>
<p>So what traffic acquisition channels drove that sales or even engaged audience?<br />
How are they going to target that audience to make them a repeat user?<br />
Macro eco system changes, so what&#8217;s happening our side of the gaming platform that is impacting the business?</p>
<p>These data attributes could come from Web Analytics platform as well as other external database, but just because you have a lot of data doesn&#8217;t mean you can make sense of it by itself, it helps to better perform analysis if you integrate with other external data as well. </p>
<p>It boils down to what you really want to understand and analyze, but the the point I want to make is that, Digital Analytics are being highlighted in a silo, but not in an integrated way.  At least that is what I feel based on my subjective view&#8230;</p>
<p>For us, digital analysts, we have to recognize the point where rubber meets the road, or at a data point where we can do causal analysis after seeing correlation.  That has nothing to do with Big Data Vs. traditional data or web analytics or blah blah&#8230;  It comes to digital data is awesome, and both Big Data and non-Big data needs to co-exist to better make sense of it by good analysts.</p>
<p>I think that concept is mentioned lightly and a lot of people/businesses aren&#8217;t talking about that, which is truly the important part of the data business.</p>
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		<title>Social Graph Data and Web Analytics</title>
		<link>http://www.zoommetrix.com/traffic-analysis/social-graph-data-and-web-analytics/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=social-graph-data-and-web-analytics</link>
		<comments>http://www.zoommetrix.com/traffic-analysis/social-graph-data-and-web-analytics/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 12 Feb 2012 23:11:18 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>irizakri</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Traffic Analysis]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.zoommetrix.com/?p=972</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>So in my previous post I briefly talked about the <a href="http://www.zoommetrix.com/social-media-analytics/integrating-web-analytics-data-with-social-profile-data/" target="_blank">integration of Social Data with Web Analytics platforms</a>. Here are some more details on the data integration with Gigya. </p> <p><a href="http://developers.gigya.com/010_Developer_Guide/80_Reports/Analytics" target="_blank">3rd-party Analytics Integration (Gigya Documentation)</a><br /> <a href="http://developers.gigya.com/020_Client_API/010_Objects/User_object" target="_blank">User profile objects that you can call on custom basis</a></p> <p>This object represents [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>So in my previous post I briefly talked about the <a href="http://www.zoommetrix.com/social-media-analytics/integrating-web-analytics-data-with-social-profile-data/" target="_blank">integration of Social Data with Web Analytics platforms</a>.  Here are some more details on the data integration with Gigya.  </p>
<p><a href="http://developers.gigya.com/010_Developer_Guide/80_Reports/Analytics" target="_blank">3rd-party Analytics Integration (Gigya Documentation)</a><br />
<a href="http://developers.gigya.com/020_Client_API/010_Objects/User_object" target="_blank">User profile objects that you can call on custom basis</a></p>
<p>This object represents the current user in the system. The User object may be retrieved with updated information upon a request to a particular method.  As you can see, different social platforms provide different kinds of profile info (only when consumers opt-in), so you won&#8217;t be getting everything even if users share.  Facebook seems to provide the most useful attributes.</p>
<p>What I&#8217;ve done is using profile information that are useful and potentially insightful.  For example integration some photo thumbnails or photos are less insightful when integrated with Web Analytics.  Make sure you plan on what you want to bring in and analyze first.</p>
<p>Some of the interesting things I have in mind to support marketers are&#8230;</p>
<li>Traffic Sources or marketing channels segmented by social profile.  It will answer rather your marketing effort reached audiences by how much (%), and how that compares to a segmented that didn&#8217;t come through your marketing efforts.</li>
<li>Buyer visitors social profile breakdown.  When people social sign-on and buy products, what are these social profile tells you about your buyers.</li>
<li>Engaged audience&#8217;s social profile Vs. Non-Engaged social profile.  Engage could be defined in many ways, but if you want to segment your audience by different engagement behaviors and see how they compare, maybe the data can tell to make a better efforts around reaching or optimizing the experience for your target audience.</li>
<p>There are many other application of the data with web analytics, but I&#8217;m gonna stop here.</p>
<p>What will be interesting is, if you&#8217;re able to export these data into CRM database, and cater your marketing efforts that speaks to the exact audience and their profile, it may lead to a better conversions.  Meaning, if consumers give you permission to send email, and they&#8217;ve shared their profiel info, you can create email/tweet messages that is customized just for them.  That is a very powerful marketing based on data.</p>
<p>Every web analytics tool is unique in how it could be set up to track the events value, so I recommend consulting with your vendor.  In Google Analytics Custom Event category and actions could be the part to capture social graph info, but be careful not to pass personal information as it goes against Google&#8217;s terms.  </p>
<p>On enterprise level analytics platform, it is worth exploring how much additional events you&#8217;re expecting to get and the best custom report view to achieve optimal reporting for integrated social graph for insights.  As a Webtrends customer, I&#8217;m planning to use <a href="http://webtrends.com/products/segments/" title="Webtrends Segments" target="_blank">Webtrends Segments</a>.   </p>
<p>Since we can identify unlimited custom events, I&#8217;ll apply a standard custom parameters with convention naming that could easily identify the social graph parameters.  I would definitely love to hear how other experts were able to leverage social graph and integrate with Web Analytics. </p>
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		<title>5 Tips to Building Great Web Analytics Vendor Relationship</title>
		<link>http://www.zoommetrix.com/online-strategies/5-tips-to-building-great-web-analytics-vendor-relationship/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=5-tips-to-building-great-web-analytics-vendor-relationship</link>
		<comments>http://www.zoommetrix.com/online-strategies/5-tips-to-building-great-web-analytics-vendor-relationship/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 25 Dec 2011 03:19:12 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>irizakri</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Online Strategies]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Traffic Analysis]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[partnership]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[roadmap]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[vendor relationship]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[web analytics]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.zoommetrix.com/?p=967</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>I recently met with an analytics expert in Tokyo and had a discussion about the vendor relationships.<br /> One of the discussions missing from many conferences relating to analytics is how clients build or maintain the relationships, and help web analytics vendors help client&#8217;s business to gain more value out of the vendor&#8217;s service.</p> <p>#1) [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I recently met with an analytics expert in Tokyo and had a discussion about the vendor relationships.<br />
One of the discussions missing from many conferences relating to analytics is how clients build or maintain the relationships, and help web analytics vendors help client&#8217;s business to gain more value out of the vendor&#8217;s service.</p>
<p><strong>#1) Treat your technical account managers (TAM) like your partner</strong><br />
If you have a dedicated support hours from technical account managers, it is important to have a working relationships that is healthy.  Important tracking decisions could be executed well if you communicate with your partner, and explain the details on the business needs.</p>
<p>I&#8217;ve heard stories where clients are treating their TAMs like an intern and not leveraging the partner&#8217;s expertise and experience/learnings.  In most of the cases, TAMs are well experienced and have seen many unique solutions with other clients beside yours.  If you treat them like a partner and not an intern, then you can have a healthy dialogue on great solutions that you may have not thought of.</p>
<p><strong>#2) They don&#8217;t know your business as much as you do</strong><br />
This was also mentioned at the &#8216;Accelerate&#8217; conference by Web Analytics Demystified in SF.<br />
Web Analytics vendors are good at what their do, and are the subject matter experts in their solutions.  They&#8217;re facing hundreds of other clients and your business is not the only one.  You should not expect your Web Analytics vendors to know 100% of your internal projects, politics, technical environment, managements, etc.</p>
<p>For example&#8230;<br />
You have a fire-drill because the web site went down and important data was lost, and your TAM didn&#8217;t pick up the fact that the site was down and he/she can not help you recover data.  Don&#8217;t expect your TAM to be a super man who can deliver or fix everything.  This is totally non-sense.  </p>
<p>Another example&#8230; Reorganization happend, and the key contact with Web Analytics vendor is gone, new person comes in, don&#8217;t expect your web analytics vendor to know everything in between the blank period, and 100% of the previous managements&#8217; projects/tasks.</p>
<p><strong>#3) Set realistic expectations and set priorities</strong><br />
In order to have your web analytics vendors deliver more value and great support, it is important to set priorities straight with your key contacts.  100% of the case, out-of-the-box reports or tag implementations will not deliver to your business expectations or needs.  Make sure you have priorities and realistic expectations to have your analytics solution providers to help you get to where you&#8217;d like to be with your data infrastructure.</p>
<p>What I do with my TAM is, on a weekly basis we have 30min meeting to go over our task items in Google Docs to collaborate on:<br />
- Priorities (tasks list is numbered in order of priority)<br />
- Status details<br />
- Timeline of expected delivery<br />
- Open questions and items<br />
- Type of support or follow ups<br />
- Business impact</p>
<p><strong>#4) It&#8217;s a journey</strong><br />
As I mentioned, out of the box solutions will not cut it in 100% of the cases.  Otherwise you can stick with free Google Analytics right? :-) </p>
<p>In addition, it is unrealistic to have your vendor deliver everything from custom reports, tags, segments in one day.  It is important to build the road map of the KPIs or metrics to track against the important business questions, tagging implementation, BI integrations, etc.</p>
<p>In fact, digital marketing changes a lot in one year, and expect your data tracking/reporting strategies to change as well.  The relationship you have with your partner is an important part of the journey.  Some people swap vendors because they&#8217;re not building the relationship or managing them right, and probably not even looking at the analytics practice as a journey.  Hopefully you don&#8217;t fall into that type of management.</p>
<p><strong>#5) Be honest, transparent, and have fun</strong><br />
Same as in marriage or having a girl/boy friend.  Honesty is one of the key elements in having a healthy relationship with your partner.  I believe it applies to working with any vendors.  For web analytics data, it starts from good data planning and collection practice, and it has to go through the process of QA as well as a common launch process.  That said, being transparent about your business needs will reflect well on the data collection practice as your vendor may have great ideas or solutions to gain great data.</p>
<p>Lastly, you have to have fun.  Bad tensions between you and your support contact is not healthy at all.  I&#8217;ve learned that having fun in the projects your working on, and sharing the excitements gained through digital metrics will build excitement and confidence in how you and your partners work and grow.</p>
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		<title>Mobile Analytics is Very Unique and Different from Website Analytics</title>
		<link>http://www.zoommetrix.com/mobile-analytics/mobile-analytics-is-very-unique-and-different-from-website-analytics/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=mobile-analytics-is-very-unique-and-different-from-website-analytics</link>
		<comments>http://www.zoommetrix.com/mobile-analytics/mobile-analytics-is-very-unique-and-different-from-website-analytics/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sat, 26 Nov 2011 21:50:32 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>irizakri</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Mobile Analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[eCommerce]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[virtual store]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.zoommetrix.com/?p=951</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>I covered briefly on mobile analytics in my previous post <a href="http://www.zoommetrix.com/mobile-analytics/getting-ready-for-mobile-site-or-apps-analytics/" title="Getting Ready for Mobile Site or Apps Analytics"></a>, but I thought I give it a different view on how we should approach thinking mobile analytics.</p> <p>I touched about SoLoMo (Social, Local, Mobile) being the main eco-system on the emerging media and consumer behavior. [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I covered briefly on mobile analytics in my previous post <a href="http://www.zoommetrix.com/mobile-analytics/getting-ready-for-mobile-site-or-apps-analytics/" title="Getting Ready for Mobile Site or Apps Analytics"></a>, but I thought I give it a different view on how we should approach thinking mobile analytics.</p>
<p>I touched about SoLoMo (Social, Local, Mobile) being the main eco-system on the emerging media and consumer behavior.  Because successful mobile sites or apps are embracing all these three pilars, it is absolutely important to think deeply about your mobile business&#8217;s success factors as well as the environment where the mobile is used.</p>
<p>A lot of us may own a smart phone, so I&#8217;m probably preaching to a choir&#8230;<br />
Mobile site could in any form of genres and used as:<br />
- Video, music, magazine or any content consumption<br />
- Shopping / eCommerce<br />
- Camera and share photo<br />
- Shop on Amazon.com while in Best Buy<br />
- Check into places and unlock a deal<br />
- Play games<br />
- Cross platform interaction. iPad/iPhone controlled apps on TV</p>
<p>If you think about the data points you could possibly track and tie to different events or data dimensions, it is endless.  It definitely has more unique data points or dimensions than the traditional web sites.  Depending on the service and number of active users, traditional web site analytics solution may not work.  Especially if it is a service requiring real-time data to react to, or provide services that needs to process tera-bytes of data in a day or so.</p>
<p>We could already imagine services like Google, Facebook, News Media companies, or Social Gaming apps may fall into this camp where traditional website anlaytics may not work.  They most likely use data managements catered to Big Data.</p>
<p>If you&#8217;re a traditional website analytics analyst, and meet some data anlysts who do analytics at (randomly saying&#8230;) Zynga, it is very likely that the tools, infrastructures, analytical approach are totally different.  That&#8217;s not a bad thing, it just means more fun stuff to learn. :)</p>
<p>This difference is already setting the landscape differently in terms of skill sets required to do the job, data tracking environment, reporting practices, etc.</p>
<p>Just keep this in mind, that web analytics is not only about using Omniture, Webtrends, Google Analytics, Unica, Coremetrics, etc.</p>
<p><strong>Shifting gears&#8230;</strong></p>
<p>I came across this cool mobile marketing done in South Korea.  A number two grocery chain Tesco, wanted to gain share without opening up a new store, became number one in market share by opening up their virtual store front in sub-way station.  (I don&#8217;t know about now, because I would assume other grocery chain would do the same to compete.)</p>
<p>Source of image:  <a href="http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-15341910" title="BBC - Shopping by phone at South Korea's virtual grocery - by Jason Strother" target="_blank">BBC &#8211; Shopping by phone at South Korea&#8217;s virtual grocery &#8211; by Jason Strother</a></p>
<p><a href="http://www.zoommetrix.com/wp/images/main/Tesco-Case-1.png"><img src="http://www.zoommetrix.com/wp/images/main/Tesco-Case-1.png" alt="Tesco Virtual Store Front" title="Tesco Virtual Store Front" width="476" height="291" class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-960" /></a></p>
<p><a href="http://www.zoommetrix.com/wp/images/main/Tesco-Case-2.png"><img src="http://www.zoommetrix.com/wp/images/main/Tesco-Case-2.png" alt="Tesco Virtual Store in Subway" title="Tesco Virtual Store in Subway" width="320" height="205" class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-961" /></a></p>
<p>I would imagine the KPIs would not be different from traditional eCommerce.  Such as&#8230;<br />
- Traffic (traffic after people snap the photo of QR code)<br />
- Transaction<br />
- Revenue<br />
- Average order size</p>
<p>I would imagine, the operational metrics would be very insightful, yet different from traditional website anlaytics.<br />
- Traffic and transactions by Subway (or location)<br />
- Top performing hours by day.  My assumption is it works the best during rush hour, but maybe not because people are rushing. hmm<br />
- Customer profile on those who purchased.  Is it younger audience? women? men?<br />
- Items performance.  Is it the small incremental stuff that people forget to buy at the retail store? or is it the items people would like to carry less?<br />
- Viral effect of promoting such virtual store fronts.  I would image, doing some promos or doing such cool digital marketing will yield some buzz.  How did that influence the brand?<br />
- Payment preference for mobile transaction.</p>
<p>Wow&#8230;</p>
<p>Website analytics have many similar measures and dimension, but what is unique about mobile is the application and the operational aspect of these metrics in online and offline hybrid environment.  When that kind of operational metrics are applied different, then obviously that means optimization activities are going to be totally different.</p>
<p>For example&#8230;<br />
- Does it work better in non-subway environment?  Should they try in air-ports?<br />
- Do bigger graphics on products that work should be the ones they focus on?</p>
<p>This doesn&#8217;t mean South Korea is the only country doing cool things with mobile.  If we open our eyes, we see a lot of this changes are happening in US, Japan, and many other countries.  </p>
<p>Let&#8217;s see what you have in mind.  Digital mobile marketing is already starting and let&#8217;s see how you can apply that website analytics skills to the new era of mobile!!</p>
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		<title>Getting Ready for Mobile Site or Apps Analytics</title>
		<link>http://www.zoommetrix.com/mobile-analytics/getting-ready-for-mobile-site-or-apps-analytics/?utm_source=rss&#038;utm_medium=rss&#038;utm_campaign=getting-ready-for-mobile-site-or-apps-analytics</link>
		<comments>http://www.zoommetrix.com/mobile-analytics/getting-ready-for-mobile-site-or-apps-analytics/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 24 Nov 2011 00:54:35 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>irizakri</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Mobile Analytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[location]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile anlaytics]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[social]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[tablets]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.zoommetrix.com/?p=934</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[<p>What are the key things should we take into consideration when measuring mobile platforms and the user behaviors.</p> <p>Not all companies may have mobile optimized site or so called m.site. However, if you get a pretty decent amount of traffic, you should check how fast the mobile segment is growing, perhaps Month-over-Month or Year-over-Year. Traffic [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>What are the key things should we take into consideration when measuring mobile platforms and the user behaviors.</p>
<p>Not all companies may have mobile optimized site or so called m.site. However, if you get a pretty decent amount of traffic, you should check how fast the mobile segment is growing, perhaps Month-over-Month or Year-over-Year. Traffic size may be small, but I bet you anything, most of the case the growth maybe surprising if you haven&#8217;t checked it for a long time.</p>
<p>So.. this is where my brain is at and learned from some of the mobile initiatives I came across.</p>
<p><strong>1) Browser based mobile site or Mobile App?</strong><br />
The tagging technology are quite different from mobile website (browser base) Vs. mobile apps like iOS or Android. The metrics and available dimension you want to measure could be different as well.</p>
<p>Typically the objectives and goals for mobile apps differ from the mobile site, and the consumer experience in these two different properties are different as well. While mobile apps tagging may occur by using some type of SDK library in building the app, the mobile browser site are likely to be the traditional javascript tags. </p>
<p>Make sure to involve your engineer and give it a lot of planning.</p>
<p><strong>2) You need to go create the mobile analytics profile for mobile. </strong><br />
What are you waiting for? Digital analytics experts should already be thinking about creating profile to measure the mobile space, and the first easy thing you could do is create a segment of analytics data around mobile browsers or your mobile site (m.site).</p>
<p><strong>3) Identify outcome, and key events</strong><br />
Analytics tools are useless without measuring the site&#8217;s contribution to outcome or key events.</p>
<p>The important thing we&#8217;ve learned in web site analytics on measuring what worked or not worked against outcomes (downloads, sales, registrations, shares, etc.) need to scale to mobile analytics practice as well.</p>
<p>Events could be tied to some unique mobile interaction events.  Could be, but not limited to&#8230;<br />
- video view<br />
- check-ins<br />
- sharing (links, image, comments, etc.)<br />
- click-to-call<br />
- screen swype<br />
- promo/coupon redemption at point of sales</p>
<p><strong>4) Prepare for segmentation</strong><br />
As mentioned in my previous post &#8220;<a href="http://www.zoommetrix.com/traffic-analysis/measuring-roi-using-segmentation/" target="_blank">Measuring ROI using Segmentation</a>&#8221; segmentation is the key to getting to an insight and performance analysis.</p>
<p>Mobile Analytics is no different went it comes to segmentation.</p>
<p>The outcomes you defined could the segmentation point. For example, people who registered for newsletter on mobile site Vs. people who didn&#8217;t register on the mobile, how are they behaving differently.  </p>
<p>Another random example:  People who check-in to a store with the app, how is that different behavior different from people who don&#8217;t check-in and completed an event X.  Was the average order size different?</p>
<p><strong>What else to consider?!</strong></p>
<p>If your site is optimized differently for mobile phone and tablets, then it could be worth looking into separating those two segments out as well.</p>
<p>What are the ways to identify mobile segments?<br />
You can look at the OS or Platform or Screen Size reports and see what makes sense for you to segment the mobile data into the profile in your analytics solution.</p>
<p>If you have a mobile Apps, then it is definitely worth creating a profile for iOS by itself and Android in another profile if you are supporting two different platforms. Make sure you involve the app engineer, because the web analytics vendor may have unique event tags catered to mobile apps.</p>
<p><strong>From reporting stand point&#8230;</strong></p>
<p>Even if your objectives and goals mobile/tablets may be the same to your traditional website, there should be unique custom reports catered to mobile/tablets segment.  Remember that there are many unique aspects in mobile that traditional website may not offer.  (i.e. check-in, screen swype, barcode scan, sharing, using coupons/tickets, etc.)</p>
<p>If you recall the term &#8220;SoLoMo&#8221;, a term coined by KPCB’s John Doerr. Consumer behavior in the emerging media is revolving around Social, Location, and Mobile. </p>
<p>Recently, Eric Schmidt from Google has mentioned…<br />
“They will change the world. What I&#8217;m most excited about is what the next generation of entrepreneurs can do on top of these Cloud platforms. What I do know is that the next generation of these leaders will be something involving mobile, local, social. ” &#8212; Eric Schmidt @ 2011 Dreamforce Event</p>
<p>From analytics stand point, we should really pay attention to capturing data and connect the data to build insights around:</p>
<ul>
<li>Social: How is mobile platform attributing to social activity that is impacting the business</li>
<li>Location: Leverage location data to learn and bring insights to build better business strategy around physical location like store, people, services, unique interaction thru mobile, etc.</li>
<li>Mobile: Champion data around measures that are unique to mobility or mobile platform</li>
</ul>
<p>Hopefully that gave you some good sense of what to think to get started with mobile analytics.  Here some links to popular web anlaytics vendors providing mobile analytics capabilities.</p>
<p>Resources:<br />
<a href="http://code.google.com/mobile/analytics/docs/" target="_blank">Google Analytics for Mobile &#8211; Developer&#8217;s Guide</a></p>
<p><a href="http://webtrends.com/solutions/mobile/" target="_blank">Webtrends Mobile Solution</a></p>
<p>Here is a nice mobile analytics maturity model by Webtrends.</p>
<p><a href="http://www.zoommetrix.com/wp/images/main/mobile_analytics_maturity_mobile.png" target="_blank"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-939" title="Webtrends Mobile Analytics Maturity Mobile" src="http://www.zoommetrix.com/wp/images/main/mobile_analytics_maturity_mobile-300x123.png" alt="Webtrends Mobile Analytics Maturity Mobile" width="500" /></a></p>
<p><a href="http://www.omniture.com/en/products/mobile-analytics" title="Adobe Omniture Mobile Solution" target="_blank">Adobe Omniture Mobile Solution</a></p>
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